Most individuals who possess weapons or firearms do so for protection, and under the guidelines of the law. With gun laws in Florida that are notoriously strict and somewhat confusing, however, it is understandable that an individual who was simply trying to protect himself or his family might end up on the wrong side of the law.
Charges can including the improper exhibition of a firearm, carrying a concealed weapon or firearm, felon in possession of a firearm, or the illegal sale or distibution of a firearm
Defense Attorney for Weapons Charges in Palm Beach
If you are facing weapons charges in Palm Beach, Broward or Miami-Dade Counties, you should contact a Palm Beach defense attorney immediately. The attorneys at McLaughlin Morris, P.A. are well versed in the laws regarding weapons in Florida, and we will use our knowledge to vigorously defend your case from start to finish.
Call us today at (561) 404-0529 to schedule a free consultation. We represent clients in the areas of Miami, West Palm Beach, Delray Beach, and we are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call us today; we are ready and willing to assist you.
Weapon Charges Information Center
- Laws Regarding Concealed Weapons in Palm Beach
- Florida Laws on Open Carry of a Firearm
- Unlawful Possession of a Firearm by a Felon
- Resources for Gun and Weapon Charges in Florida
- Working With Quality Weapon Crimes Defense Lawyers in Broward County
Florida Statute § 790.01 prohibits carrying a concealed weapon or firearm in Florida. It is against the law for an individual to carry a concealed weapon when he or she is not licensed to do so and no other exception applies. Carrying a concealed weapon is a first degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
If the concealed weapon that is carried is a firearm, the individual can be charged with a third degree felony, sentenced to up to five years in prison, and/or ordered to pay a fine of up to $5,000.
Under § 790.053 of the Florida Statutes, if an individual openly carries a firearm on their body, he or she is guilty of a criminal offense. If an individual has a license to carry a concealed firearm, it is not illegal for him or her to briefly display the firearm in a non-threatening way, in order to make it visible to someone else.
Open carry of a firearm is a second degree misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to 60 days in jail, and/or up to a $500 fine.
Section 790.23 of the Florida Statutes specifically states it is illegal for certain individuals to possess firearms, ammunition, or electronic weapons. Individuals prohibited for possessing a firearm include:
- A person previously convicted of a felony in Florida;
- A person found guilty of an offense that would be considered a felony if an adult committed it (when the individual is below the age of 24);
- A person convicted of a felony offense against the United States or federal government; or
- A person found guilty of a crime committed in another state or country that is punishable by more than one year in prison
If an individual falls into one or more of these categories, and he or she is found to be in possession of a firearm or electric weapon, he or she can be charged with a second degree felony, unless he or she has had their rights to possess a firearm restored. This offense carries up to 15 years in prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000. In most cases, these individuals are also prohibited from possessing ammunition.
License to Carry: In order to receive a license to carry, an individual must apply through the Department of Agriculture Licensing Division in Florida. To be eligible for licensing, individuals must meet certain criteria.
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives: This government agency, which is often referred to as the ATF, is responsible for protecting the country from the dangers of criminal activity associated with drugs, alcohol, and firearms.
National Rifle Association: This non-profit organization seeks to reform gun laws in the United States. The NRA provides information, education, and training for individuals who own guns throughout the country.
With former prosecutorial experience on our team, the attorneys at McLaughlin Morris, P.A. have developed the knowledge and skill necessary to defend you. Drew McLaughlin and Jeff Morris are highly qualified attorneys who will work around the clock to give you the best chance of avoiding the most serious penalties associated with your alleged offense.
We represent clients living in and around Broward, Miami-Dade, and Palm Beach Counties. Call us today at (561) 404-0529, 24 hours a day / 7 days a week, to schedule your free consultation to discuss any pending firearm or weapon charge.