First Time Offenders
South Florida First Time Offender Attorneys
Anytime an individual is arrested for a crime, it can be an emotionally charged event. Feelings of panic and despair can cloud your judgment and lead to poor decisions that ultimately hurt your cause in the future. If you have been charged with a crime for the first time, contact a compassionate criminal defense attorney who will ensure you are making informed legal decisions throughout the legal process.
Attorneys for First Time Offenders in Delray Beach
If you are facing criminal charges for the first time, it is vital you have a team of qualified criminal defense lawyers on your side. McLaughlin Morris, P.A. represents individuals in Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade Counties, including in West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, Fort Lauderdale and Miami, who have been arrested for the first time.
As a former prosecutor, Jeff Morris has extensive knowledge of how the prosecution will attempt to prove your guilt, and he, along with the attorneys at McLaughlin Morris, P.A., will fight to protect your rights throughout the legal process. Call us today at (561) 404-0529, 24 hours a day / 7 days a week, to arrange a free consultation to discuss the details surrounding your case.
Information for First Time Offenders in Florida
- Most Common First Time Offenses in Florida
- Legal Options for a First Time Offense
- Resources for First Time Offenders in Florida
- Providing Quality Legal Representation for First Time Offenders in Miami-Dade County
First time offenders in Palm Beach County and the surrounding area commit a variety of different crimes. However, in most cases, these crimes are minor and nonviolent in nature. Some of the most common first time offenses are:
- Possession of a Controlled Substance
- Marijuana Possession
- Disorderly Conduct
- Petit Theft
- Criminal Trespass
- Criminal Mischief
- Public Intoxication
Even though these offenses will usually be charged as first or second degree misdemeanors, it is important to take a first time offense seriously. In Florida, individuals who are convicted of misdemeanor crimes can face up to a year in jail, and/or be ordered to pay a fine of up to $1,000 in some cases. To give yourself the best chance of avoiding time behind bars, contact a Palm Beach criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
In Florida, when an individual is charged with a crime for the first time, several legal options may be available to him or her. These options emphasize rehabilitating first time offenders, as opposed to introducing them to imprisonment and institutionalization.
Depending on the alleged offense and other circumstances, first time offenders may be able to utilize one of the following options:
Pretrial Diversion Program: The State Attorney’s Office runs a program which allows the alleged offender to have the charges dropped against him or her after they successfully complete predetermined requirements. These requirements often include, but are not limited to undergoing counseling, paying restitution, submitting to psychological evaluations, and performing community service.
Plea Bargaining: In exchange for a guilty plea, the defendant’s attorney can negotiate with the prosecution for penalties such as probation, house arrest, and rehab, in lieu of jail time.
Drug Court: If a first time offender is charged with a drug-related crime, and the defendant’s attorney can prove the offense was related to an addiction and that the offender could benefit from drug court, he or she may be able to have his or her charges dropped after completing a drug court program.
Intervention before Charges are Filed: In some instances, when an individual is able to show the offense was a one-time incident that likely will never happen again, as evidenced by an otherwise clean record, the State may refrain from officially filing charges.
Being adequately informed of your legal options is vital for individuals who have been charged with a crime. The options mentioned above are only a few of the options that may be available to you. Contact a qualified criminal defense attorney in Palm Beach County to determine which options would be best for your particular situation.
Florida Statutes Online: This website provides information on the laws and ordinances of the state of Florida. The statutes provide detailed information on crimes and the punishments for each crime.
Palm Beach Clerk and Comptroller: The county clerk’s office is responsible for keeping public records and funds in Palm Beach County, including criminal records.
If you have been arrested for the first time, you may understandably be overcome with feelings of stress and confusion. In order to help calm your emotions and provide you with some clarity, contact the Delray Beach criminal defense attorneys at McLaughlin Morris, P.A., who proudly serve the areas in and around West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, Fort Lauderdale, and Miami.
The attorneys at McLaughlin Morris, P.A. are dedicated to providing you with the best defense possible. We will thoroughly review the facts of your case and develop a defense strategy that gives you the greatest chance of obtaining the outcome you desire. If you have been charged with your first criminal offense, contact us today at McLaughlin Morris, P.A., 24 hours a day / 7 days a week, to arrange a free consultation.